10 Things getting a tattoo taught me

Standard

(TL;DR: DO IT)

This past month I got a tattoo. I have always wanted to experience this form of art but I especially didn’t want to regret it. The tattoo I got is located on my upper arm, and it says, “XII. VII.” with the words “The Start” under it. this is a homage to my great-grandmother and her late husband. December 7th was the day their 65 year marriage started, and this lasted through a World War, multiple changes in the social climate of the world, and their changing selves. IMG_3318Their love remained constant until the day my great-grandfather passed away, and that is always something I have adored.

 

 

so long story short here are a few things getting a tattoo taught me or showed me (if you’re debating it):

  1. Do it.
  2. Make sure you can live with it
  3. it doesn’t hurt as bad as you would think
  4. be smart and do your research (I had a guy offer to give me a tattoo for $20 in his shed. bad idea)
  5. Most people are accepting of tattoo. (My dad told me he would do disown me. He didn’t)
  6. More people have tattoos than you would think.
  7. If you’re worried about being professional, get it in a well hidden spot. (shoulder, leg, back, chest)
  8. Go to a good artist, plz. I don’t care if your friends cousin has a shop and will give you a good deal, if they aren’t good, don’t give them your money. You get what you pay for.
  9. You honestly feel instantly more badass. (Especially when you see yourself in the mirror, or is that just me?)
  10. Again DO IT.

 

Leave a Reply

